Online Databases in Medicine and Health

= Brown only


Core Database Resources
Specialized Resources
Supplementary Databases

Core Database Resources

Cochrane Library  
Current; provides access to information compiled by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to reviewing the best evidence from clinical trials in medicine.

DynaMed  
Provides point-of-care, evidence-based clinical topic summaries; updated daily.

PubMED
1950–present; PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. [This resource is publicly available.]
The Library also has access to MEDLINE via Web of Knowledge.

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database  
Current;TRIP Database searches over 75 sites of high-quality medical information, providing you with direct, hyperlinked access to the largest collection of 'evidence-based' material on the web as well as articles from premier on-line journals such as the British Medical Journal, Journal of the American Medical Society (JAMA) and the New England Journal of Medicine. [This resource is publicly available.]

UpToDate  
Current; UpToDate is specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily medical practice and to do so quickly and easily so that it can be used right at the point of care. Physician editors and authors review and update the content on a continuous basis and a new, peer-reviewed version is issued every four months. The published evidence is summarized and specific recommendations made for patient care. ON-CAMPUS USE ONLY.

Web of Knowledge  
Current; Web of Knowledge is a portal to different databases from which the Library subscribes to through the Institute of Scientific Information. At the Web of Knowledge site, you will find links to Journal Citation Reports, Web of Science, which includes the Social Science Citation Index, the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and the Science Citation Index Expanded. Also included is a link to Medline, and ISI's HighlyCited.com, which provides author biographies and bibliographies.

Specialized Resources

AgeLine
1978 to present (also selected coverage 1966-1977); updated bimonthly, AgeLine abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related content from psychology, psychiatry, sociology, social work, demography, economics, policy studies, and the health sciences. AgeLine covers health, health care, and health behaviors in some depth, but does not cover clinical medicine or biological and physiological aspects of aging. AgeLine includes journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and research and policy reports from many academic, nonprofit, and governmental sources.

AGRICOLA
1970-present; articles, book chapters on agriculture, animal sciences, plant sciences, nutrition. [This resource is publicly available.]

AIDSinfo
A U.S. DHHS database of prevention and treatment guidelines, drugs and clinical trials.

Alcohol Studies Database
The database contains over 70,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials. The site was developed by the Scholarly Communication Center, the Center of Alcohol Studies , and the Rutgers University Libraries

Arctic Health Library / Publications Databases
A group of several databases indexing bibliographic information, abstracts, and links to full-text journal articles, reports, newspapers / newsletters, conference proceedings, gray literature, and other documents as well as non-print materials.

Biological Abstracts  
1969-present; international coverage of research in the life sciences.

Canary Database
Find evidence of animals as sentinels for environmental hazards or diseases. See also: TOXLINE

CINAHL  
1982-present; CINAHL provides indexing for over 1,835 current nursing and allied health journals and other publications. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full text material includes 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. Pre-CINAHL, a companion database to CINAHL, is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to researchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing. Once the bibliographic records are complete, they are added to the CINAHL database and removed from Pre-CINAHL.

Directory of Published Proceedings
Use this InterDok database to find publication information for proceedings from 1994 to present. Search conferences by sponsor, keyword or author.

Global Health  
1973-present; Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas. This database contains information from more than 3,500 serials, books, conference proceedings, and patents.

Grey Literature Report and Collections of the New York Academy of Medicine
Reports, memoranda, standards, pre-prints, conference proceedings and other documents not published commercially. Mostly on the topic of Public Health.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine  
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.

Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region
Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR) is a database of articles published in selected journals within the WHO South-East Asia Region. It is a collaborative effort of participating libraries in Health Literature, Library and Information Services (HELLIS) network in the region.

Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office. U.S. Army, Series 1-5
Published between 1880-1961, the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office (Index-Catalogue)* is a multi-part printed bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, U.S. Army. It contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research.

Literature, Arts and Medicine Database
from the NYU School of Medicine

NCI 3-D Database
National Library of Medicine: Specialized Information Systems

POPLINE  
POPLINE 1974-present; but also includes older substantive literature. POPLINE has information on topics relating to population such as demography, vital statistics, family planning, and related health, law,and policy issues. POPLINE indexes books, book chapters, journal articles, technical reports, conference papers, theses, dissertations, laws, bills, court decisions, and unpublished reports.

PsycINFO  
1887-present; international source for journal articles, dissertations, and books in psychology and related disciplines, such as sociology, linguistics, law, business, and anthropology.

Supplementary Databases

Academic Search Premier  
Current; multi-discipline, full text reference database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Academic Search Premier also includes around 1500 titles from Academic Search Elite.

Chicano Database  
1960-present; the Chicano Database identifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos, providing extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Also includes the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Cross-Cultural Database  
Cross-Cultural Database contains carefully selected text on specific topics covered in the archive known as Human Relations Area Files. This main link will allow you to search all of the topics simultaneously. The database is part of a series of topical databases from HRAF (Human Relations Area Files) dealing with childhood and adolescence, crime and social problems, death and dying, family, human sexuality, marriage, old age, socialization and education, and religious beliefs and practices in 60 different societies around the world in the 19th and 20th centuries. The records in this database are taken from more than 1,000 reference sources in the fields of anthropology, sociology, and psychology. Menu of SilverPlatter Databases

Gender Studies Database  
1972-present; Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines the Women’s Studies International database and Men’s Studies databases to provide coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes links to freely available and indexed full text articles and documents on the Web. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

GPO Access
Current; online access to the Federal Register, Congressional Record, U.S. Code, and other federal government sources. [This resource is publicly available.]

GPO Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
1976-present; index to United States government publications cataloged by the Government Printing Office. This web version of the Monthly Catalog is called Impact/ACCESS GDCS WebPAC.

LexisNexis Academic  
Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information.